Troutville’s Sunshine Girls honor veterans

The Troutville Sunshine Girls held a Veterans Day program at Troutville Town Park last Thursday. By Matt de Simone   In honor of Veterans Day last Thursday, the Troutville Sunshine Girls honored local veterans with their annual Veterans Day program and lunch at Troutville Town Park. For early November, attendees experienced lovely weather that morning. The Girls brought the sunshine. The event marked the 12th program put on by the Troutville Sunshine Girls honoring veterans on November 11. In previous years, the program took place inside Troutville Elementary School. Due to COVID-19 restrictions still preventing schools from holding assemblies, this was the first program held at Troutville Town Park. The program kicked off at the Blue Star Memorial in front...

Read more



No Content Available


No Content Available


No Content Available

Vaccination clinics being scheduled

By Taylor Boyd Patrick County Schools are in the process of coordinating vaccination clinics for students aged 5 to 11. Interim Schools Superintendent Dr. David Martin said the clinics will be held at Patrick & Henry Community College (P&HCC), in concert with local health departments.  “One thing that I hope...

Read more

Shop local, support local businesses

Small Business Saturday is Saturday, November 27, and according to Rebecca Adcock, it’s about more than just shopping at local stores. Adcock, the executive director of the Patrick County Chamber of Commerce said the event is “about celebrating and sharing the small business that are part of our lives – from...

Read more

Spangler honored as Grand Marshal

Harvie Langhorne Spangler was named Grand Marshal of the Veterans Day Parade held Saturday in Stuart. Spangler, now 93, was drafted into the US Army January 24, 1951. He went through basic training and radio school then on to Korea’s combat zone October 10, 1951. Spangler served in the 24th...

Read more

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.