CCHS Advance Placement Government & Politics Class wins competition for sixth consecutive year 


The CCHS Advance Placement Government and Politics Class has once again won the State Championship “We the People” competition.

Congratulations to the West Virginia State “We The People” Champions.  Clay County High School’s Advance Placement Government & Politics class, taught by Mr. Philip Dobbins, traveled to Charleston on January 24, 2020 to compete in the “We The People” state competition. This is a competition where students demonstrate their knowledge of the Constitution and current issues in mock congressional style hearings.

Each school participating must divide their classes into six teams.  These six teams prepare a four minute verbal response to a constitutional question and then are asked follow up questions by a team of three judges for six minutes.  Teams are scored on their knowledge of the Constitution and their ability to apply the concepts to their everyday lives as Americans.

Classes can have individual team winners and overall class winners.  Clay County High School won four out of six individual team championships and won the overall class state championship defeating the champions from congressional districts one and three.

By winning the state championship Clay County High School has earned a spot in the National Finals in Washington D.C. in April of this year.

Members of the class are Caleb Atha, Jaydin Cogar, Kelsey Prather, Autumn Stone, Tyler Cummings, Zoe Davis, Haydin Morris, Emily Hayes, Aden Knopp, Anastasia Knopp, Owen Nottingham, Elijah Payton, Julia Holcomb, Nicholas Evans, Jefferson Hymer, and Austin Smith.